Additions and Subdivisions
Map of McCowan
McCowan
1913 Sanborn Map
McCowan
Contemporary
History of McCowan
History of McCowan Subdivision
Zone Atlas: J14
J.R. McCowan lived on this block and platted this subdivision in 1898. However, he never really got past the planning stages. Nevertheless, the maps after 1894 call this block “McCowan’s Subdivision”. The block also had the distinction of being nearly covered in an orchard. The deed book only has two entries, granting lots 13-18 and 19-24 to “McClellan Park”. It should be noted that these lots comprise the west half of the block only, as is seen on the 1913 Sanborn Map. McClellan Park would later be built and cover the entire block.
Today, the site of McCowan’s Subdivision (and McClellan Park after it) is the location of the Pete Domenici Federal District Court.
Sources
General Sources
Books and Internet Links
- Bernalillo County Abstract and Title CollectionAbstracts of Title, Warranty Deeds, and other documents that are part of this archival collection.
- Bernalillo County Public Document Search
This link opens in a new window
The Eagle Web Document Search Program allows an online search for any public document which has been recorded in the County Clerk's Office. This includes deeds, mortgages, judgements, liens, etc. - Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District
- This link opens in a new window
The establishment of the Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District had and continues to have an important effect on how Albuquerque developed along the Rio Grande.
- Zone Atlas, City of Albuquerque, 1963 - byPublication Date: Varies
- Zone Atlas, Bernalillo County, 1982 - byPublication Date: Varies
Databases
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
The Digital Sanborn Maps collection is a browsable set of thousands of digitized images of the 1867–1970 Sanborn maps for cities and towns in New Mexico.
The maps contain information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. - Newspaper Archive Library Edition - New Mexico This link opens in a new window
NewspaperARCHIVE Library Edition is an online database that provides searchable access to New Mexico newspapers. Every part of every page is searchable, including valuable local articles, advertisements, editorials, classified ads, and obituaries. The collection contains over 128 different newspapers from across New Mexico. The archives cover New Mexico history from 1847-2019 and allow you to further understand an ancestor's place within their local community to research your genealogy. Start your New Mexico ancestry search now and discover more about your ancestor's stories!
